What is FSSAI licence?

In India, In order to start food business, it is mandatory to obtain Fssai licence form Food Safety and Standard Authority of India (FSSAI).

Types of FSSAI Food Licenses in India

Food Safety and Security Association of India,  FSSAI issues three different types of food licenses in India:

  1. Basic FSSAI Registration
    The small-sized  operators like manufacturers, transporters, storage units, distributer, marketers, retailers, etc.  having annual turnover of less than 12 Lakhs,  are required to acquire a Basic FSSAI Registration which is issued by the State Government for a minimum period of one year and a maximum of 5 years
  2. State FSSAI LicenseMedium sized food business operators, having an annual turnover of more than 12 lakh, like small to medium-sized manufacturers, storage units, transporters, marketers, retailers, distributors, etc to obtain the State FSSAI License for a minimum validity of one year and the maximum of 5 yrs.
  1. Central FSSAI LicenseFood business operators who have a turnover greater than 20 crores like large manufacturers, 100% export oriented units, importers, operators in the Central Government agencies, airports, seaports, etc are enforced to obtain a Central Food License issued by the Central Government for minimum tenure of this license is one year and the maximum is 5 years.

What is eligibility of fssai Licence?

To know the eligbility click here (CM folder)

What are the documents required for Fssai Licence?

For the state licence click here https://foodlicensing.fssai.gov.in/state_document_list.html

For central licence click here https://foodlicensing.fssai.gov.in/central_document_list.html

What is the procedure?